Industry Centre of Excellence: ICoE (Program Pusat Kecemerlangan Industri) was established on December, 2011, with the purpose of strengthening the existing collaboration and improving the upcoming collaborations between industries and Higher Learning Institutions (HLIs). [ It focuses on improving collaborations between IPTs and industries ] as clearly defined in The National Graduate Employability Blueprint (2012-2017) as well as in the 2013 Budget Speech

The main objectives of ICoE programme are:

  1. To improve the level of graduates marketability through ICoE training programs such as Structured Trainings, ICoE Industrial Trainings, and technical and soft skill trainings
  2. To increase knowledge and technology sharing between IPTs and industries

Up until 2015, 11 ICoE Clusters has been established

  1. Wholesale and Retail – Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM)
  2. Oil and Gas – Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM)
  3. Electric and Electronics – Universiti Teknologi Melaka (UTeM) and Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP)
  4. Automotive – UMP
  5. ICT – UMP
  6. Construction - UMP
  7. Biotechnology – UMP
  8. Hospitality and Tourism – UUM
  9. Finance – UUM
  10. Healthcare – UniMAP
  11. Agriculture – Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS)